Day 3 of DCM’S Most Anticipated Game of 2013: Brandon

“Meh… it was okay.”

That’s probably what I’d say if someone asked me what I thought of 2012’s gaming offerings. Sure, there were a few great games scattered throughout the year like Halo 4, Borderlands 2, Dishonored and SpecOps: The Line… But for the most part, 2012 didn’t “wow” me. Then again, it wasn’t the worst year for gaming either. Either way, onward to 2013…

Now, if I knew for a fact that Dark Souls II would be released next year, it’d hands down be my most anticipated game of 2013. Hell, it’d probably be my most anticipated game of the decade. The same could be said of Team Ico’s latest and most mysterious endeavor, The Last Guardian. However, no date is set in stone for either of these titles, so I’ll wait. (Not patiently at all, mind you.)

But one title that will, without a doubt, probably, maybe, possibly be released in March of 2013 is BioShock Infinite… unless it happens to be delayed again. [Furiously knocking on wood]

infinite0

As a huge fan of the first two Rapture-based games, this is a title that I’ve absolutely dying to get my hands on ever since it was announced way back in 2010, and all release date jokes aside, it could be delayed a few more times and I’d be completely fine with it. I love what Ken Levine and Irrational are doing with this latest BioShock installment. They’re going in a different direction with this beast, but from what I’ve seen, it’s for the better.

For those who are unfamiliar, BioShock Infinite is in no way related to the two previous BioShock installments. Infinite is not a sequel, nor is it a prequel. It takes place in an earlier time period and completely different setting, although it does feature similar gameplay concepts and themes seen in the previous games.

infinite1

Somewhat like BioShock and BioShock 2, the game is set in a utopian city (or, what was originally supposed to be a utopia until things went down the shitter), cut off from the rest of the world. However, rather than being set during the 60’s in the underwater city of Rapture, Infinite instead takes us back to 1912, to the floating air-city of Columbia. In contrast to the limited spaces of the underwater city of Rapture, the open-air city of Columbia provides for more combat challenges, including combat that takes place aboard the city’s skyline rollercoaster-like rail system.

You’ll play as Booker DeWitt, a former agent of the Pinkerton National Detective Agency, at some point teaming up with a young woman named Elizabeth, who’s been held captive within Columbia for the past 12 years. Like previous BioShock games, you’ll use a combination of weapons, gear, psychokinetic powers granted through “vigors” (The equivalent of BioShock’s “plasmids”), and Elizabeth’s own powers to fight your way through Columbia.

infinite3

Irrational’s creative director, Ken Levine (one of my very favorite and inspirational figures in the gaming industry) has done a great job of addressing the combat, story, gameplay, delays and other topics surrounding BioShock Infinite in various interviews. All of which show his enthusiasm for phenomenal storytelling and his desire for the team at Irrational to deliver an engaging and innovative experience that the player will remember for years.

So, will the game be delayed again? It’s possible. Will I care if it’s delayed again? Not at all. Great games take time to make. Take TES III: Morrowind for example; It was delayed multiple times, yet it still stands as one of my top 5 games of all time. I’d prefer a game be delayed a few times instead of an inferior version of the product being released on a set date, especially with today’s “screw it, we’ll patch it later” mentality. I think Ken Levine would agree.

To enter this 12 Days of Giveaway Contest (Comment Below):  What are your impressions of Bioshock Infinite so far? 

A randomly picked commenter will be chosen at the end of each day and announced below. Prize must be claimed within 5 days please.

Todays Winner: zephaniahzephyri

Please shoot us an email to dontcritme@gmail.com or message on Facebook to redeem!

Today’s Giveaway:  Orcs Must Die 2!

12 responses to “Day 3 of DCM’S Most Anticipated Game of 2013: Brandon

  1. I really need to get around to beating Bioshock 1 and 2. I know how the stories end thanks to some (dirt bag) friends. I will also be picking up Dark Souls soon. I’m not 100% sure that I will be finishing it since it appears to be extremely frustrating, but we’ll see.

  2. I’m really hoping for some new features but from what ive seen the game play and story have really caught my eye.

  3. Bioshock looks great, I would say, “too great” to be sure, that it will be amazing. I’m really afraid it won’t as good as we expect.

  4. Was not a fan of Bioshock until now. But the trailer makes me want to play the prequels until this game is released!

  5. What I love most about Bioshock series is the amazing backstory to each character, enemy, location, etc. What I anticipate the most out of Infinite is how Irrational is going to make this beautiful, and colorful city into a grim place. Ken Levine and his team put so much thought into it; even with the mishap of a delay, I am sure it was all for the best. I enjoyed the post, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

