Day 2 of DCM’s 2012 Editors Choice Game of the Year: NEMESIS

Damn, what a year it has been. If I think back to beginning of this year, and had someone asked me what I thought was going to be Game of the Year, I probably would have told you,  Diablo 3. Honestly, I think a lot of people might have told you the same if they were to predict. If you could have magically transported to January and rewound time and said, “Nemesis, dont buy Diablo 3 it’s going to be a disappointment and you’re going to end up falling d3-beta1in love with a console game”. I would have straight up thought you were crazy!  A lot of people did not like the actual changes in the Diablo 3 beta from systems in Diablo 2.  Despite this, my confidence was still high in getting a polished title on launch.  As each grinding level went by in D3 my feelings towards it being Game of the Year material dwindled like my chances of getting decent boss loot drops that didn’t have bullshit stats.  Wizards need strength, right?!

Yet, here I sit, about to type out my feels towards a game I didn’t even think twice about, until a month or two ago. The day I went out and bought a 360 just for Halo 4, was quite a first world daunting situation. Taking a gamble like that, being primarily a PC gamer, and on the proverbial eve of next-gen hardware, was enough to make me almost step back for a second and rethink what I was doing. That Friday afternoon I left work like a child let out for Summer Vacation and was ready to kick off the weekend. After arriving home, I immediately open up my fresh non-red ringed Xbox and copy of Halo 4.  I put the disc in, and almost immediately notice how graphically optimized this iteration of Halo is compared to the previous games. 343 Industries did an absolute amazing job of optimizing the game for this aging hardware. Before you say it, let it be known I am not even close to being a Halo fan boy. I dabbled a bit in the first Halo, slightly in the second, and maybe watched a few YouTube videos of subsequent ones after. Before purchasing 4, I decided to read up on the past lore and history of the previous games to really kind of get a feeling for the current story so Im not completely lost when I start this new version.  What made me want to pick this up so much?  I really couldn’t honestly tell you for sure, other than I had a feeling.

halo-4-lore

A lot of people have said Halo 4s campaign is too short, and while I can honestly say I completed the campaign in two sit down periods (the second being a really extended period of time), its easy for me to say that I felt it was long enough. Campaigns that are too long often lead to loss of interest for some players, and campaigns that are too short, leave a lot of plot gaps and lack of character development exacerbating a gamers feeling of being  ‘jipped’ out of their $60 purchase.  You and I know, new releases aren’t cheap these days, and most gamers have been burned before on ‘Day 1’ leaps of faith; Operation: Racoon city I’m looking at you. Personally, Halo 4 reached a good middle ground for me, even if 343 added another 6-12 hours of campaign, I still would have played to completion, but I felt satisfied when the end cinematic finished. Not going to drop any spoilers obviously, but I felt they left it at a really nice point to continue the franchise on a next gen console. I have a lot of predictions for next year that will be mapped out in my next article but I’ll leave that till we meet again next week.

large (1)

This game should be judged on it’s own merits, far away from Bungie’s past iterations. The single player is exactly the right mix of classic Halo, with a battlefield dynamic that feels new and instantly more challenging. The multiplayer has plenty in there to attract new fans, and is a blast, as it always has been. And the soundtrack is mind-blowing. 343 has added their own touches to a universe that needed a good solid reboot for the franchise.  From the soundtrack, plot development and overall experience my enjoyment of Halo 4 trumped almost all the movies I had seen all year. Damn, Im starting to sound like a Halo/Xbox fan boy now aren’t I? Well so be it, it was a damn good title that I will plan on jumping back into time and time again until the next comes out. So there we have it, my personal choice for Game of the Year falls with Halo 4, but that wasnt the only title I

H4-Campaign-Mission6-Combat-01 absolutely loved this year. Some honorable mentions go to : Torchlight 2, Dishonored, Dead Light, Borderlands 2, and Guild Wars 2.  I enjoyed each of these titles and a lot more for many different reasons, but suffice it to say if 2012 had a headstone for it’s grave it would have the words ” A few let-downs overshadowed by so many bad ass titles” engraved upon it.  With that being said you’ve either completey skipped my wall of text and came straight for the giveaway or you checked out my thoughts.  Either way, you’re still a great fan! Up for grabs today is a copy of Witcher 2! Just drop your thoughts on the following question below to automatically enter yourself!  Remember to check back here for the drawing later tonight around 10-11pm.

When do you think a developer/publisher should kill a franchise and create a new one?

A randomly picked commenter will be chosen at the end of each day and announced below. Prize must be claimed within 5 days please.

Today’s Winner: The Patient !  Congratulations, you were the randomly drawn winner.

Please shoot us an email to dontcritme@gmail.com or message on Facebook to redeem!

the_witcher_2_assassins_of_kings-650x406

31 responses to “Day 2 of DCM’s 2012 Editors Choice Game of the Year: NEMESIS

  1. I think that the publisher or developer should stop a franchise if the franchise is all spent. I mean, no silly prequels or sequels that actually doesn’t make sense just to milk the franchise.. Of course I am saying that under the assumption that the game is selling well. If it isn’t selling well, maybe they’re doing something wrong and they should kill the franchise and move one.

  2. A franchise should die when there’s nowhere left to go with it. For story-driven games (most of them, the exceptions being things like racing or a lot of multiplayer games), that’s when there’s no more stories left to tell. For the rest, a franchise doesn’t have to really end. It doesn’t matter how many Forza games are made, because what makes a Forza game is the gameplay itself, not the adventure, characters, or lore, so as long as the gameplay is relevant, the series can go on forever so long as there are at least some elements in common with the previous games.

  3. They should kill the franchise, when they start to “innovate” so much like in Command & Conquer franchise or don’t “innovate” at all like Call Of Duty franchise. They both are signs of running out of good ideas and starting to do things with flow of the pen.

  4. When you start running out of ideas and noticing that you are just repeating the same themes in each game. So about 5 years before an Activision employee says “I think this franchise is getting stale.”

  5. I think they should stop when they run out of story line or the last game they made flopped after everyone got it. Once your customers lose faith in the quality if your games you should stop.

  6. I game shouldn’t be milked for all that its worth until players are sick of it. Hopefully game developers end the franchise once it has run its course and don’t continue pumping out games just for moneys sake. However, I’m not a developer, and I think it would be a really fine line to tread while working on a franchise. The sales might be well enough to make another installment and fans may seem to want one, but when does creating a game for enjoyment become turn to creating a game for money. At the end of the day the whole objective was to make money, so who can blame them for trying and/or succeeding.

  7. I think that if the saga is starting to loose gamers and their nterest you should kill it with a big and surprising ending and start a new one.

  8. This should happen when either the games canvass salt arts to hate te franchise of when a developer runs out of ideas.

  9. I believe a franchise should be killed when the story has no direction but the silly one left to go; when the games are just the same and naught new can be brought into the next; when you’ve concluded a story that can be e.g three games long but is fantastic. Franchises should not be milked for tons of crap and sequels and prequels and spin-offs. I think that the primary story should be set in stone. One of the reasons that I like WoW is because of the ongoing lore that keeps expanding like a supernova, yet stays on a level that isn’t ludicrous (Some things may be quite stupid though).

  10. Developers should kill off a franchise if they can’t improve on the last game (new game mechanics, or improved realism) or add to the story in a meaningful way (if it’s a game where the story matters). Sequels and additions to franchises should only be made because there’s still something exciting to do.
    Gamers can see through efforts to simply milk them for more money, and that’s when studios lose our respect.

  11. I don’t think developers should kill franchises unless there’s no excuse to have not wrapped up the story — that is, if games have a connected story. As long as fans get slightly better and better games, and studios rake in enough money to stay afloat, I don’t see any problems with studios releasing series with many iterations. It’s okay to milk the franchise, but only for what it’s worth. Make games that make sense, not just ones that share a similar title.

  12. “When do you think a developer/publisher should kill a franchise and create a new one?”
    You know what? Try as I might, I can’t say I know. You can usually tell when a franchise has outlived itself or had too many iterations and/or spin-offs, but most companies can’t feel much beyond their profit/loss sheets. It’s hard to say where the point is, but it’s typically obvious when it’s been passed.

  13. I think Hollywood has clearly shown us that franchises never die, can be rebooted and improved upon. I don’t think that one bad apple like Diablo 3 will ruin a franchise. There’s so much more that can happen with the story, reboots, prequels, sequels well into the future. Our imagination is our only limit. Look at Zelda for instance.

  14. End on a high, not a low. Set out the finish the story you wanted to tell. After that, move on. Don’t be a bad TV show that drags on.

    For games that aren’t so story dependent, you have to make sure the players are still into it, and that the innovation doesn’t stop. Otherwise, move on!

  15. I like the “I opened my non red ringed xbox” hehe Anyways a franchise needs to die when it begins to do what the modern warfare series is doing. Capitalizing on the name rather then the game itself. Every year we get a stale Modern warfare title that does nothing for the series. I feel you on Diablo 3 as well. Would have been my pick but well, look how it turned out ugg..I have yet to see a set item in that game lol I do have an embarrassing amount of hrs into it but have yet to touch it for quite some time.

  16. The developer should kill a franchise and create a new one once he runs out of non-forced ideas fitting in the storyline and world of a franchise. Once the ideas become forced and aimed mainly on squeezing cash out of a knonwn product – it should be abandoned.

  17. When the story stops writing itself its time to let it go. I think developers come in with a plan and then some sequels tend to write themselves. Once these stories are being forced or feel spent I think its time to let the series go or to start looking at it from a different angle. The Mass Effect series is doing this now, they love the universe but the story is over, so they are looking to go somewhere else with it. The universe of a franchise doesn’t have to die, but the story shouldn’t be over done. I think the more games released regarding one character or story the less I start to care. A franchise story is so valuable when its given a sense of morality, but a universe can be endless. Of course, it is always going to come down to money. A franchise will only end when the money does.

  18. I wouldn’t ask a developer to let go of a franchise. ame recognition has been shown to be a very valuable thing in this indestry, for better or for worse. Plus, we’ve seen franchises get revitalized or reinvented in the past.

  19. I think a developer/publisher should never kill a franchise. I think there are times you should back burner games and continue with a new franchise (if the budget allows) or sell them to another company. to get a new spin on it i will say it is cool when you think the franchise is dead. and 12 years later it comes back! just for the fans they had and to get new ones and maybe restore faith in the fans they lost.

  20. I think a good rule of thumb is 3 games for a franchise. Once the original trilogy is completed, there shouldn’t really be any need to continue further with the story that is just a rehash of old plot or derivative of another series.

  21. I think that developers should kill the franchise when story in some game is completed. The worst idea is to make new, different story, which can totally ruin what they did before.

  22. I feel like it’s important for developers to kill a franchise simply when they’re only creating more games simply for the idea of milking it for money. Unfortunately in our current video game business, this seems to be near impossible, and this has seemingly caused the untimely death of many franchises before there time (looking at you Mirror’s Edge). Not do they have to kill one to create a new one, it is possible to simply go back and revisit other franchises later in time, similar to how Blizzard does business.

  23. As long as there is something left to do with either a non-story based game series or there is still enough story left to tell without completely jumping the shark it could work. For sports and racing games the story is non-existent but for RPGs and that line you have to keep a story running and interesting.

  24. They can keep going as long as the work that they put into the game is just as good and its just as well received as the previous games. However, when the game loses its fan base and they are just milking it dry, that when they should stop.

  25. Is it still possible to enter the contest? (In my country is already 1 a.m.)

    Well anyway i leave here my opinion (it’s any interisting topic :P):
    Game franchises, like books, series, etc., should have a main plot well defined with a beginning, middle and ending.
    One of the problems of overextending sequels and expansions is the will of the companies to milk all the money possible of the franchise, which affects in a negative way its reputation and everything associated to the point where even it’s original fans will lose interest in it.

    To avoid that i’m of the opinion that, with a plot well defined (since we are talking about sequels and expansions PLOT is the main focus and reason to go with them and not with a new game/franchise), a franchise should follow it to the end and not beyond.

    In the case it os unpopular and not suitable to much more sequels they should try to do a last game with an end fit to the story to honor not only the franchise but also the fans, no matter how few, who followed the franchise and hoped for more. Maybe a re-release a few years later with more content and improvements to the actual game.

    If the game is successfull and they want to milik more money out of it, they could try to revive the franchise from time to time with newer graphics and newer content (the same games, plots, gameplay, but with more extra content) to appeal to new players and some of the old.

    This way present players should be happy with what they got as future players who only heard about the game from older players but never had a chance to try it.

Leave a Reply

