Editor Battlestations Day 5- Andrea

It’s been an interesting past few days to see my fellow editors’ battlestations, filled with monitors, towers, keyboards, and comfy chairs. I have a confession to make: I don’t actually own a gaming computer. So my battlestation will be a little bit different, because today I’m going to share my little console collection! (I must apologize for the low quality pictures; today I discovered that I don’t actually own a camera that is not in a cell phone. I tried making them as crisp and visible as possible for you guys!)

Gratuitous Skyrim.

First: the most important piece, the TV. It’s a Samsung 40” LN40D550 LCD. When getting the TV a few months ago, my boyfriend and I actually went through a few different brands and models before finally settling on this one. Picture quality was not  much of an issue, but the first three TV’s we went through all had some pretty bad input lag. Since the TV is mostly used for gaming, the number one priority was finding a TV in our price range with the least lag. Finally we used an input lag tester in the store and found that this TV had the least amount of lag. The plasma TV’s were avoided altogether because a lot of the gaming I do is for an extended period of time and there was the worry about possible burn in. I am also prone to leaving a game on pause and walking away without shutting it off. So, LCD it was.

As for the consoles, I’ll start from the top shelf. On here we have a 3DS collecting dust, a Raspberry Pi Linux Box (not used for gaming yet), a Roku box, and on the other side, a PSP also collecting dust, and some memory cards. The middle shelf is where the most used items sit. On the left is a Retro Duo NES/SNES gaming system that I bought from ThinkGeek. I actually love the Retro Duo, it reproduces games very well both visually and aurally. There are a couple of games it has some trouble with, Super Mario RPG, for example. But for the most part, it serves me well. We did replace the controllers that came with it for a Turbo controller and an original SNES controller, mostly because they were already broken in and the buttons had a better feel. Next is the Xbox… not much more to say about that! The PS2 on the far right is obviously one of the earlier, larger ones; I was never a fan of the slim model and I’ve also heard that they are less reliable than their larger predecessors. Finally, the last shelf is where Sega consoles live amongst tangled cords, only to be used once in a blue moon (mostly because I have no good games for them!). There’s a Dreamcast and a Genesis, along with a PS1 Slim tucked in the middle.

I live in a house with seven gamers, so these are just the consoles that make up my battlestation. In the common room we have a group battlestation consisting of another Xbox, N64, a Wii, SNES, non-working Atari, Duck Hunt guns and a Super Scope (yet no NES), two Gamecubes, and another PS2. Surprisingly, all of them get a fair bit of use, with the Gamecube taking up most of the play time.

Most of the consoles in my battlestation were actually purchased in the past two years from a nifty shop around the corner from my house that sells a lot of retro gaming stuff! While it depresses me that I don’t have my original consoles, I’m pretty happy with the collection I’ve got going on now. Unfortunately consoles are a little less interesting to talk about than PCs are (I can tell you the specs of an Xbox, sure, but do you really care anymore?), but I hope you enjoyed seeing my personal slice of gaming.

About 2/3 of my games, missing some PS1 stuff and all of the handheld games.

One response to “Editor Battlestations Day 5- Andrea

Leave a Reply

