Editor Battlestations Day 4- Brandon

Welcome, readers, to my battlestation. This is where I spend most of my time when I’m not out saving rainforests, or out at the club gettin’ down with all the shawtys. Er… is it shorties? Shawties?

Alright, so I lied about the clubbing thing. I’d much rather be sitting at home racking up XP and/or headshots from the comfort of my own chair as opposed to standing around in a cramped room with a bunch of sweaty bros yelling over each other as the unpleasant sound of Ke$ha’s “music” rapes my ear drums.

But hey, I’ve got nothing against rainforests.

Anyhow, back to my glorious station of battle. First off, I’ll go ahead and say it for you — “Oh, look… another Phantom.” Yeah, I get it. They’re super common PC cases today, but dang it I love the Phantom. It’s like the surprisingly beautiful bastard-child of a Stormtrooper and an R2-unit… but with neither the unintelligible beeps and boops of an R2-unit, nor the terrible aim of a Stormtrooper.

Housed within my glowing blue R2-Trooper of sexiness is an AMD 1100T Black Edition, hitched to an ASUS M5A97-EVO motherboard. In charge of graphics is a Zotac 560ti. I’ve never owned anything made by Zotac before, but this card has actually turned out to be a great little GPU. Soon I’ll be upgrading to the new 660ti. 16 gigs of DDR3 help the system remember things.


Now, to the outside of the case. It’s a big Razer party out here. Directly in front of me is a Razer Arctosa keyboard, along with a Razer Naga MMO mouse. They’ve served me well in Sanctuary, Tamriel, Pandora and many other dangerous places. Dangerous not because of their inhabitants, but because of how late they tend to keep me up. The monitor is an Acer 23″ LED.


On any given night, a Razer Carcharias headset can be found pumping the sweet sounds of Daryl Hall & John Oates into my ears.


Unfortunately, it’s just a tad dangerous to fly RC airplanes indoors. Crazy, right? Anyway… to remedy this, I’ve gotta break out the RealFlight controller. One great thing about RealFlight is that it gives you the chance to fly real-life expensive RC helicopters, minus the real-life pain of accidentally flying into a tree and destroying thousands of dollars worth of equipment.


Ah, and here’s the latest addition to my battlestation; an AWESOME Super Metroid art print.


Over on the other side of my battlestation is my console area. I’m sure my 360 is full of cobwebs. The PS3, however, I still use regularly. Also, no… your eyes do not deceive you. That, ladies and gentlemen, is an HD-DVD player. If I had a nickel for every time I’ve used it, I’d probably have a little less than a dollar.


Lastly, for no reason in particular: this awesome guy.

That’s about it. Thanks for looking, and feel free to comment if you’ve got any questions about anything pictured. Also, make sure to head over to the Facebook page for a chance to win a copy of of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.!

Leave a Reply

