DCM Fan Feature: Chris Sampson

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

-Age
23

–  What made you get into PC Gaming? 
My first adventure with “PC” gaming was a massive library of games on the Commodore 64

 How did you develop an interest in gaming?
My first true obsession was Diablo. At the ripe young age of 6, the violence, atmosphere, and gameplay had me hooked.

– What is your favorite game currently?
Minecraft is my go-to game that I play with my fiancee, but The last one that really has me entranced was Deus Ex: Human Revolution. There is one scene (spoiler alert!) in Hong Kong where I snuck into a janitor’s office and found 1000 credits in his safe. After that I hacked into his computer and read a few emails about how he came to Hong Kong to work for a biotech company and got laid off. He was saving up money to move back to america to see his wife and daughter by working at a janitor that was regularly abused by the hotel’s patrons. I left the room, and when I saw him getting yelled at by his employer, the guilt I felt was so immeasurable that I threw away nearly 4 hours of gameplay to load my last save so I didn’t steal this man’s money. That is how incredibly immersive that experience was for me.

–  What upcoming titles are you most look forward to?
After Diablo 3 losts its magic for me, my next must-play game is Torchlight 2. Also looking good are Borderlands 2, and Watch Dogs

-If you could change one aspect of gaming or gaming culture as a whole today, what would it be and why?
I would love to see the indie market continue to explode like it has been the past few years. After some recent shenannigans by some larger studios, and some absolute gems coming from indie developers, I can’t wait to see what else they can come up with.

–  Anyone you would like to give a shoutout to?
 The shoutout is going to have to go to Nick, for buying me a $250 graphics card and giving me a kick in the ass to get my rig up-and-running

About Chris’s Rig!

First, I’d say how easy it really is to build computers for gaming. My first build with my dad was an awesome learning experience and has led me to continue building computers semi-professionally for about 15 years now.

A lot of people get lost and frustrated when it comes to building, which is where /r/buildapc and pcpartpicker come in. Buildapc is probably the friendliest, most helpful, and most well-informed group of builders on the net, and I owe them more thanks than I could express. Next is pcpartpicker, which is kinda like shopbot, but exclusively for pc parts. Using that and a few other resources, I ended up paying less than half of what my computer costs full price.

As for the build itself. It all started when one of my bestest friends ever bought me an ASUS Radeon 7850 for my (late) birthday. After that, I slowly bought parts, watching for sales, and 3 months later I had a computer!

My first pick for a processor was an Intel i5-2500k, but when I saw I could get the i7-3930k for the same price, I had to jump on it. Next, the mother board was a fairly easy choice, as ASUS only made one model in my price range with SSD Caching, the P9X79 PRO. RAM again was an easy choice (the cheapest 1.5V/1600MHz/CL9 or 8 sticks I could find). I recycled a HDD from an old laptop and used an Intel 180GB 520 series SSD and used the SSD caching. What this means in non-computer lingo is that I’m getting the capacity of a regular mechanical drive and the speed of a solid state drive all on one letter.

Finally, the power supply and case both came from NZXT. The HALE series power supplies are basically rebranded Seasonics, which make them absolutely amazing PSUs. A modular power supply meant a clean looking case, and the NZXT fan meant it would be a bit cooler and quieter than a standard Seasonic in the same price range.

The case, although pricier than my first choice, turned out to be worth every penny. Cable management was an absolute dream with a raised backplate and plenty of rubber lined holes to route each cable precisely where I wanted it to go. The fan layout the case shipped with was perfect to enable front-to-back airflow. The one item that had me thoroughly confused was a second hand Corsair H100, a closed watercooling loop for the processor that had a dual 80mm radiator that I thought I might have to cut open and mount outside the case through the water tube grommets at the back of the case. After a few hours of head-scratching, I found two pieces of metal that turned out to be mounting brackets for the top of the case. Now the processor wont even break 50 C under load because of the push-pull going on with the 200mm fans on top of the case. Finally, the piece-du-resistance of the case is the sliding fan controller. With a quick slide, I can make all the fans on my tower go from super quiet to maximum cooling without alt-tabbing or playing with complicated software.

Leave a Reply

