Steam Sale – Day 2 picks

The Steam Summer Sale has finally started! There are some good deals there already, but how do you know which games you’ll like?

One of the best things about the crazy discounts is that it makes some of the prices so low that you can justify just taking a risk. However, if you do want to know a second opinion  before you buy, I’ll be adding my own comments to games I already owned as I see them come up in the sales.

Anno 2070

Anno 2070 - 50% off ($27.49)

Anno 2070 – 50% off ($27.49)

Sadly, I can’t really recommend this unless you’re already a fan of the previous Anno games. The trailers make it look like a SimCity type game with some RTS elements. In fact it’s more like a normal RTS game, but with some pretty significant constraints and restrictions caused by the SimCity elements.
$27.49 is still a lot of money. If you are really keen to try it, I’d recommend waiting: we may see a further discount later in the sale, or else I believe we will see a new, permamanetly lower price some time in the near future.

The Legend of Grimrock

Legend of Grimrock - 60% off ($5.99)

Legend of Grimrock – 60% off ($5.99)

This game, however, I can totally recommend to anyone who played and loved the dungeon-crawling classics of the 1990s. The setting and gameplay remind me of nothing more than the classic Eye of The Beholder. At this price, I can’t recommend it enough.

I’m so sorry that this was a Day 1 sale and is ending very soon (6 hours from time of publishing). However, I’m looking out for your interests! I purchased a copy to give away to one of our readers. Like our Facebook link to this article, and comment with what your favourite 90s dungeon crawler was (and what platform you played it on), and I’ll pick a winner and message them in the next 48 hours.

Valve Collection

Valve Collection - 50% off ($49.99)

Valve Collection – 50% off ($49.99)

I purchased this bundle during the sales a year ago. At the time, Portal 2 had only just come out (which I really wanted) and buying the bundle effectively gave me everything else by Valve for free. This year, I’m not sure I can still recommend it. There are plenty of great games included, for sure. But Valve’s fantastic individual-game discounts mean it’s probably going to be better for you to pick and choose individual titles you want. (Portal 2 now $4.99? You have to admit that’s crazy).

Galactic Civilizations II – Ultimate Edition

Galactic Civilizations II - 50% off ($9.99)

Galactic Civilizations II – 50% off ($9.99)

This is turn-based space warfare done RIGHT. I am a real fan of this game. It’s probably the closest anyone has ever come to “Civilization in Space”. (I am not counting Alpha Centauri in that comparison. SMAC is a truly fantastic game, but it’s not about space). This game features all the classic elements: research, designing spaceships, conquering aliens and planets. It is great fun! This isn’t a one day item, it’s at 50% off for the whole duration of the sale, so it might well appear at a greater discount as a flash sale. Keep an eye out!

That’s all for today folks. There are other games that definitely look like good buys (I am strongly tempted by Max Payne 3 and Space Marine), and there’s stuff that’s so cheap that if you think you’ll like it, you may as well buy it (Terraria at $2.49 is a great example), but I wanted to focus on the games I already knew well. I’ll be writing regular updates as the sale progresses if I spot any other bargains. Happy summer gaming!

-ParadiceNZ

Leave a Reply

